When the dust settles

When the dust settles

Sleepy eyes,
one more click on snooze,
cuddle up closer.
I’ll take one more moment of silence with you.

Screaming kids,
spilled milk,
cheerios on the floor.
I’ll take this chaos if I can live this life with you.

Running late,
looking for coats and shoes,
running back in for the thing forgotten.
But I won’t forget how lucky I am to have you by my side.

And sitting here amongst laundry to be folded, toys to be picked up, outfits to plan out, work to get done by morning, I don’t mind.
My arms are full but my heart is fuller.
I’ll do all this and so much more if it just means that at the end of the day,
when the errands are ran,
when the work is done,
when the kids have been fed,
when the giggles have consumed us,
when the house is still a mess,
when their eyes have finally closed for the night,
when the dust settles,
I have you by my side.

After all, this is the life I once dreamt about.

Leave a comment